Disaster assistance extended following Southern Queensland flooding

Queensland Government media release

Additional disaster assistance has been extended to flood-affected communities after the Southern Queensland Flooding event in May.

The assistance is made available through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Federal Minister for Emergency Management, Senator the Hon Murray Watt said persistent rain had flooded several Southern Queensland communities, many of which were still recovering from earlier disaster events.

“The Bulloo, Goondiwindi and Murweh councils now have access to funding to repair essential public assets damaged during the deluge and resulting flooding,” Minister Watt said.

“In addition, DRFA for Goondiwindi has also been activated to help with the costs of counter disaster operations following the event between 6 May and 20 May 2022.

“Not-for-profit organisations in the Balonne, Gympie, Lockyer Valley, Moreton Bay, Somerset, Southern Downs, Toowoomba and Western Downs local government areas now also have access to disaster assistance loans for essential working capital.”

Minister for Fire and Emergency Services Mark Ryan said 23 local government areas (LGAs) have now been activated for DRFA assistance following the widespread flooding across the southern part of the state.

“Support requested will continue to be provided, as many areas face a long road to recovery after being hit time and time again,” Minister Ryan said.

“It was a major disaster season and that is highlighted by the fact that we are extending disaster assistance in winter but regardless of the season we will stand by all affected communities as they rebuild and recover,” he said.

This extension of the DRFA brings the total number of local government areas receiving disaster assistance to 23. These LGAs are: Balonne, Brisbane, Bulloo, Bundaberg, Fraser Coast, Gold Coast, Goondiwindi, Gladstone, Gympie, Ipswich, Livingstone, Lockyer Valley, Logan, Murweh, Moreton Bay, North Burnett, Rockhampton, Scenic Rim, Somerset, South Burnett, Southern Downs, Toowoomba and Western Downs.

For more information on assistance available to not-for-profit organisations visit www.qrida.qld.gov.au or free call 1800 623 946.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Queensland Reconstruction Authority’s website.